Русский

Alexander Nevsky Lavra

lavra 278

Alexander Nevsky Monastery (also known as Alexander Nevsky Lavra) is one of the main functioning monasteries in St. Petersburg. The relics of the Prince Alexander Nevsky, canonized for his defence of Orthodoxy, were moved here from Vladimir in 1723. Alexander Nevsky is one of patron saints of Saint-Peterburg.  A lavra (from the Greek laure - street) is an Orthodox monastery of higher status: in the Russian empire there were four lavras - the Kiev Monastery of the Caves (from 1598), the Trinity St. Serguis (1744), Alexander Nevsky (1797) and Pochaevo Dormition (1833) Monasteries. They are subordinated directly to the Patriarch. 

The largest building in the monastery (over 60 metres high) is the Trinity Cathedral. The relics of St. Alexander Nevsky are in its south chapel. The interior of the Cathedral was richly decorated but not with the icons but with paintings by Van Dyke, Rubens, Bassano as well as many well-known Russian artists. The ceremonies that were held here stroke with beauty and solemnity. The members of the royal family often attended to the services here. 

By the end of the 18th century Alexander-Nebsky Monastery became one of the cultural and spiritual centers of Russian Empire. A huge monastery complex occupies a whole island between Neva, Monastyrka rivers and the Ring canal. The monastery holds ceveral old cemeteries united into a museum of sculpture. There are more than 1000 tomb stones at the Necropoils alone! Here are the graves of famous Russian scientist Lomonosov, writer Fonvisin, architects Quarenghi, Starov, Voronikhin, Rossi, sculptors Shubin, Kozlovsky, Martos and many others whose skillful works we see while walking in St. Petersburg.  

Closed: on Thursdays

Duration of a tour: 1 hour (as part of city tour)

Please contact us for if you would like to arrange a tour.

°F | °C
Error! Unable to Find Specified Location!